POTUS vs. POTUS

I had tears streaming down my face as I read the speech I’d missed. I wanted to shout with the crowd – “4 more years!” Though Prez. Obama pointed out that it is time to accept Mr. Trump into the Oval office, the fact remains that he still may never make it into our hearts. What I’d like to do today is draw your attention to the stark differences in Prez Obama’s farewell speech and Mr. Trump’s victory address.

  1. Look at the opening. Obama chooses to thank his people. Trump walks in like a n obnoxious celebrity who doesn’t give two fucks about the people.

O: “My fellow Americans, Michelle and I have been so touched by all the well-wishes that we’ve received over the past few weeks. But tonight it’s my turn to say thanks”

T: “Thank you. Thank you very much, everyone. Sorry to keep you waiting. Complicated business, complicated. Thank you very much.”

2. Obama acknowledges that there are people who possibly don’t stand with him but he says that this opposition is what keeps him honest and grounded. Oh well, Trump is more about – You don’t like me? Too bad, get on my wagon now coz well y’all got no choice.

O: “Whether we have seen eye-to-eye or rarely agreed at all, my conversations with you, the American people — in living rooms and in schools; at farms and on factory floors; at diners and on distant military outposts — those conversations are what have kept me honest, and kept me inspired, and kept me going. And every day, I have learned from you. You made me a better president, and you made me a better man”

T: “For those who have chosen not to support me in the past, of which there were a few people, I’m reaching out to you for your guidance and your help so that we can work together and unify our great country. As I’ve said from the beginning, ours was not a campaign but rather an incredible and great movement, made up of millions of hard-working men and women who love their country and want a better, brighter future for themselves and for their family.”

3. Obama calls Michelle his best friend, talks about her grit and style, and acknowledges that the new generation looks up to her. Just see what Trump has to say about his brother. OMG, it sounds as if he barely knows him. Can’t say more than great and incredible?

O: “Michelle LaVaughn Robinson of the South Side…for the past 25 years you have not only been my wife and mother of my children, you have been my best friend. You took on a role you didn’t ask for. And you made it your own with grace and with grit and with style, and good humor.You made the White House a place that belongs to everybody. And a new generation sets its sights higher because it has you as a role model”

T: “And my brother Robert, my great friend. Where is Robert? Where is Robert? My brother Robert, and they should be on this stage, but that’s okay. They’re great. And also my late brother Fred, great guy. Fantastic guy. Fantastic family. I was very lucky.”

I could go on but the essence of my argument is that Donald J Trump, incoming POTUS and the man who in his victory speech claimed that he’s gotten to know the country so well, seems to know very little about his policies or his own people. He sounds more like a talk show host without the budget for a decent scriptwriter than the most powerful man in the world. He talks about renewing the American dream without understanding what it takes to give those without hope the chance to build dreams.  He talks about reducing taxes for the wealthy but ignores the reality of the middle and lower classes.

O: “But, for all the real progress that we’ve made, we know it’s not enough. Our economy doesn’t work as well or grow as fast when a few prosper at the expense of a growing middle class, and ladders for folks who want to get into the middle class.That’s the economic argument”

Mr. Trump talks about building walls and making it difficult for foreigners to get work permits despite their skills. Prez. Obama reminds us that the country cannot progress without inclusive and supportive growth.

O: If we’re unwilling to invest in the children of immigrants, just because they don’t look like us, we will diminish the prospects of our own children — because those brown kids will represent a larger and larger share of America’s workforce

I stand against religious and racial divide. I stand against bigotry and white supremacy, the very foundation of Mr. Trump’s presidency. So, you can try as much as you like to open your hearts to Mr. Trump but he’s going to have a hard time commanding the respect that Prez. Obama deserves.

Leave a Reply

