Krankenschwester

I wasn’t planning on posting another German word, but I couldn’t help it. I have been down with an infection for the past 4 days and had to call in sick today. Though I’d lately been considering going vegan again, my doctor’s suggestion that I get my blood sugar checked put it right at the top of my to-do list! It was exactly 3 years ago that I first toyed with the idea of giving up dairy products (and with it the semblance of everything that tastes great). Anyway, so I got to visit my favourite path lab technician today. She’s been testing my blood for the past decade and she’s amazing because she knows how much I hate being pricked and yet doesn’t resent me for being a total baby about it. I got thinking after the visit and decided to settle on this word for today’s post.

Krankenschwester is the German word for a female nurse (sick-sister, quite literally). Krank sein = to be sick. Schwester = sister. When I think about the term, I always use this relation – someone who calms you down like a sister when you’re cranky. Quite apt, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

